Bija – The Sounds of the Chakras

Greetings from The Art Dungeon! Today’s post brings a new artwork for all my followers and subscribers. This one is called “Bija – The Sounds of the Chakras” and is the eighth edition in my ongoing “Buddha Sutra” Series.

This painting is a portrayal of the 7 “Bija mantras,” one corresponding to each of the 7 “chakras” or energy centers in the human body. The word “Bija” in Sanskrit literally means seed and is used metaphorically for the origin or starting point of all creation. In Buddhism, the term “Bija mantras” is used for mystical “seed syllables” contained within mantras. These are one syllable sounds which have no literal meaning, but connect to spiritual principles or energies. It is believed that these seeds could stimulate physical, emotional, and spiritual growth and metamorphosis.

The 7 Bija mantras, which have been hand-printed in the artwork, when chanted while meditating, help in awakening their corresponding chakras and balancing their energies. The 7 chakras themselves have been illustrated by their respective floral essences. The mantras and the flowers for the respective chakras are:

Muladhara (Root Chakra) – LAM; Poppy flower.

Svadisthana (Sacral Chakra) – VAM; Calla Lily.

Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra) – RAM; Sunflower.

Anahata (Heart Chakra) – YAM; Rose.

Visuddha (Throat Chakra) – HAM; Tulip.

Ajna (Third Eye Chakra) – OM; Marigold.

Sahasrara (Crown Chakra) – OM; Lotus.

Each chakra is connected symbolically to their respective flowers, either due to the colour of the flower in direct correspondence to the colour of the chakra itself or by the structure of the flower in relation to the role and purpose of the chakra. In other words, while the color of the flower depicted in the artwork may not match that of its corresponding chakra, it will still be connected to it in terms of its characteristics relative to the chakra.

 It is said that the Bija mantras, when said out loud, activate the dormant power of the associated chakras and resonate with their energy, which purifies and harmonizes the body and mind, thus connecting us to cosmic energies, strengthening our spiritual powers and bringing on a state of awareness.  


2 thoughts on “Bija – The Sounds of the Chakras

  1. Very powerful piece of art Neha.
    The concept first of all is great but then the way you have illustrated it is unique and beautiful with a lot of resonation in it.
    Well done. Keep going👍


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s